top of page

The Lion King European Premiere!

By Inspiring Vanessa

I had the honour of interviewing the stars from 'The Lion King' with the voice newspaper! Some of the stars from Disney's new live action movie, made their appearances in London at the Premiere, such as Beyoncé Knowles-Carter (Nala), Jon Favreau (Director), Sir Elton John (Music), Seth Rogan (Pumbaa), Keegan Michael-Key (Kamari), Florence Kasumba (Shenzi) and many more of the outstanding cast! Enjoy my blog and don't forget to share!

The set up for the premiere was extraordinary! The premiere was in Leicester Square! They truly transformed it to something brilliant! As I arrived in the Press Pen, I couldn't wait to see who would be arriving! Not only were there many of the stars in the movie but also influencers and celebrities making their appearances too, such as: Natalie Emmanuel (Game Of Thrones), Vin Diesel, Rochelle and Marvin Humes & more!


The first star I had the honour of meeting was Keegan Michael-Key, who plays 'Kamari' (one of the hyenas) in the movie! The question I asked was "What are you most excited for other people to see in the movie?" His answer was -

I am super excited for people to see the, computer-generated images, I, I cannot wait for you to see and for everyone to see, it's literally like you're watching a national geographic special, and the animals just happen to talk! And it doesn't look- everything looks real; 'Oh ok, if a Lion could talk that's what it would like', so that's what I'm expecting everyone to see. I don't know if you know this but there's one real shot in the movie: one real action shot, and I would damn you be able to tell me which shot it is.
 

Meeting John Favreau was definitely one of the highlights of the premiere! I was already a fan of this acting career, and I was over the moon and astonished when I found out he directed this film!

The question I asked, Director John Favreau was "What was the journey like directing and creating this movie?" His answer was -

It was a journey in technology, it was a journey in casting, in looking at the illusion, there's obviously a lot to observe, so, trying to bring new things into it, new casting, new music. Thank you
 

I went with one of my awesome friends Callum Daniel Robot Boy (click on his name-underlined- to check out his Instagram) and he interviewed some of the stars too! One of which, was Seth Rogan who plays Pumbaa!

Callum asked Seth Rogan, "What was it like playing 'Pumbaa' in the Lion King?" Which he replied-

It was an honour and it was a lot of fun, I got to work with John Favreau: someone I've known since I was 18 and so, I looked up to him for a long time and Billy Eichner is also someone I've known for a long time, and I had a good time, I think I'm really proud with how the work turned out.
 

Callum also interviewed Pharell Williams, he asked him "If you could be any character in the Lion King, who would you be?"

Pharell answered -

We're all in there. It's African. It's beautiful.
 

Unfortunately, we didn't get to see Beyoncé and Jay Z fully walk down the orange carpet, however we got to see stunning photos of the two of them, taken inside the cinema.

Prince Harry and Meghan (Duke and Duchess of Sussex), walked around the orange carpet, greeting fans and saying hello to the little kids. They walked as the Lion King song "Can You Feel The Love Tonight?" played. A new viral video has spread across Instagram and Twitter and that is the meeting of Beyoncé and Duchess Meghan Markle. The video shows the two hugging and other social company platforms have footage of their heartfelt conversation.

Another highlight of the premiere was the photos of Beyoncé and Sir Elton John standing next to each other representing two legends in the music industry!

 

Thank you so much for reading this blog! I had an excellent time at the Lion King European Premiere! Don't forget to comment your favourite song from the Lion King, and like, follow and share!

The Lion King goes into Theatres 19th July 2019!

Also check out Beyoncé's beautiful ' Spirit' music video!

If you would like to see the full set up and behind the scenes of the premiere check out my vlog of the Lion King European Premiere on my YouTube Channel!

But for now, I’ll see you on my next blog post!! 💖💖💖


From Vanessa 💕

 

Follow me on social media -

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Inspiring Vanessa
bottom of page